Legislative Assembly of Ontario



Assemblée législative de l'Ontario

Official Report of Debates (Hansard)

Journal des débats (Hansard)

SP-43

SP-43

Standing Committee on Social Policy

Comité permanent de la politique sociale

Organization

Organisation

1st Session 42nd Parliament Monday 29 March 2021 1^{re} session 42^e législature Lundi 29 mars 2021

Chair: Deepak Anand Clerk: Tanzima Khan Président : Deepak Anand Greffière : Tanzima Khan

Hansard on the Internet

Hansard and other documents of the Legislative Assembly can be on your personal computer within hours after each sitting. The address is:

Le Journal des débats sur Internet

L'adresse pour faire paraître sur votre ordinateur personnel le Journal et d'autres documents de l'Assemblée législative en quelques heures seulement après la séance est :

https://www.ola.org/

Index inquiries

Reference to a cumulative index of previous issues may be obtained by calling the Hansard Reporting Service indexing staff at 416-325-7400.

Renseignements sur l'index

Adressez vos questions portant sur des numéros précédents du Journal des débats au personnel de l'index, qui vous fourniront des références aux pages dans l'index cumulatif, en composant le 416-325-7400.

House Publications and Language Services Room 500, West Wing, Legislative Building 111 Wellesley Street West, Queen's Park Toronto ON M7A 1A2 Telephone 416-325-7400; fax 416-325-7430 Published by the Legislative Assembly of Ontario

֎ ⊛

Service linguistique et des publications parlementaires Salle 500, aile ouest, Édifice du Parlement 111, rue Wellesley ouest, Queen's Park Toronto ON M7A 1A2 Téléphone, 416-325-7400; télécopieur, 416-325-7430 Publié par l'Assemblée législative de l'Ontario

ISSN 1710-9477

CONTENTS

Monday 29 March 2021

Election of Vice-Chair	SP	-9)9)	7
------------------------	----	----	----	---	---

LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF ONTARIO

STANDING COMMITTEE ON SOCIAL POLICY

Monday 29 March 2021

The committee met at 1400 in committee room 2 and by video conference.

The Chair (Mr. Deepak Anand): It is 2 p.m. We can start. MPP Harris, go ahead, sir.

Mr. Mike Harris: Just on a point of order: As much as I love and respect MPP Harden, I just wanted to know your feelings on the signs that he has up in the background—whether or not we're making political statements here at committee.

The Chair (Mr. Deepak Anand): No problem, MPP Harris. I'm guessing you're talking about the sign which is on the left of MPP Harden. That's the one?

Mr. Mike Harris: The one in NDP colours talking about paid sick days, and then, obviously, the one below probably isn't as egregious, in my opinion.

The Chair (Mr. Deepak Anand): Technically, we wouldn't have to go through this conversation if we all would be sitting in the room, but since we're working through Zoom—and I do respect respecting each other. If you have an objection, respectfully, I would request MPP Harden to kindly remove that. And for that matter, if any one of you has any objection on any other, we would do the same. Thank you so much. Thank you, MPP Harden, for that.

Good afternoon, everyone. I call this meeting to order. We're meeting today for the purpose of organization. We have the following members in presence: We have MPP Kusendova and MPP Christine Hogarth in person, right here in the room. We have MPP Babikian, MPP Burch, MPP Fee, MPP Harden, MPP Karpoche, MPP Martin, MPP Tangri and MPP Harris through Zoom. Staff from Hansard, broadcast and recording, and legislative research have joined us remotely.

To make sure that everyone can understand what is going on, it is important that all participants speak slowly and clearly. Please wait until I recognize you before starting to speak. Since it could take a little time for your audio and video to come up after I recognize you, please take a brief pause before beginning. As always, please make sure all comments go through the Chair. At this point, before we proceed, are there any questions? ASSEMBLÉE LÉGISLATIVE DE L'ONTARIO

COMITÉ PERMANENT DE LA POLITIQUE SOCIALE

Lundi 29 mars 2021

ELECTION OF VICE-CHAIR

The Chair (Mr. Deepak Anand): Seeing none, the business that we have today is the election of a Vice-Chair. The honourable member MPP Bhutila Karpoche has provided notice of her resignation as Vice-Chair of this committee, effective March 25, 2021. At this time, it is my duty to entertain a motion for Vice-Chair.

Before I ask for any motions, I would like to remind the honourable members of the standing order relating to the Vice-Chair appointments. Standing order 120(d) notes: "Where the Chair of a standing committee is a member of the party forming the government, the Vice-Chair shall be a member of a recognized party in opposition to the government or an independent member; and where the Chair is a member of a recognized party in opposition to the government, the Vice-Chair shall be a member of the party forming the government."

At this time, I'm going to be asking the members: Are there any motions? I do see MPP Harden. MPP Harden, go ahead, sir.

Mr. Joel Harden: I'd like to move that Ms. Karpoche be appointed Vice-Chair of the committee.

The Chair (Mr. Deepak Anand): MPP Harden has moved the motion that MPP Bhutila Karpoche be nominated for the position of Vice-Chair. Is that correct, MPP Harden? Go ahead, MPP Harden.

Mr. Joel Harden: Could I just change the language of my motion to indicate that I should have said "MPP Karpoche"? I thank you for the correction, Chair.

The Chair (Mr. Deepak Anand): No problem, sir. Thank you so much.

At this time, is there any debate? Seeing none, are the members ready to vote? All those in favour, please raise your hand. All those opposed, please raise your hand. I declare the motion carried.

With a smile, thank you, everyone, and welcome again, MPP Bhutila Karpoche. That concludes our business for today. The meeting is now adjourned.

The committee adjourned at 1405.

STANDING COMMITTEE ON SOCIAL POLICY

Chair / Président Mr. Deepak Anand (Mississauga–Malton PC)

Vice-Chair / Vice-Présidente Ms. Bhutila Karpoche (Parkdale–High Park ND)

Mr. Deepak Anand (Mississauga–Malton PC) Mr. Aris Babikian (Scarborough–Agincourt PC) Mr. Jeff Burch (Niagara Centre / Niagara-Centre ND) Ms. Amy Fee (Kitchener South–Hespeler / Kitchener-Sud–Hespeler PC) Mr. Michael Gravelle (Thunder Bay–Superior North / Thunder Bay–Supérieur-Nord L) Mr. Joel Harden (Ottawa Centre / Ottawa-Centre ND) Mr. Mike Harris (Kitchener–Conestoga PC) Ms. Christine Hogarth (Etobicoke–Lakeshore PC) Mrs. Belinda C. Karahalios (Cambridge NBP) Ms. Bhutila Karpoche (Parkdale–High Park ND) Ms. Natalia Kusendova (Mississauga Centre / Mississauga-Centre PC) Mrs. Robin Martin (Eglinton–Lawrence PC)

> **Substitutions / Membres remplaçants** Mrs. Nina Tangri (Mississauga–Streetsville PC)

Clerk pro tem / Greffière par intérim Ms. Julia Douglas

Staff / Personnel Ms. Sandra Lopes, research officer, Research Services