Legislative Assembly of Ontario



Assemblée législative de l'Ontario

Journal

des débats

(Hansard)

Official Report of Debates (Hansard)

SP-34 SP-34

Standing Committee on Social Policy

Comité permanent de la politique sociale

Committee business

Travaux du comité

1st Session42nd ParliamentTuesday 10 November 2020

1^{re} session 42^e législature

Mardi 10 novembre 2020

Chair: Natalia Kusendova Clerk: Tanzima Khan Présidente : Natalia Kusendova

Greffière: Tanzima Khan

Hansard on the Internet

Hansard and other documents of the Legislative Assembly can be on your personal computer within hours after each sitting. The address is:

Le Journal des débats sur Internet

L'adresse pour faire paraître sur votre ordinateur personnel le Journal et d'autres documents de l'Assemblée législative en quelques heures seulement après la séance est :

https://www.ola.org/

Index inquiries

Reference to a cumulative index of previous issues may be obtained by calling the Hansard Reporting Service indexing staff at 416-325-7400.

Renseignements sur l'index

Adressez vos questions portant sur des numéros précédents du Journal des débats au personnel de l'index, qui vous fourniront des références aux pages dans l'index cumulatif, en composant le 416-325-7400.

House Publications and Language Services Room 500, West Wing, Legislative Building 111 Wellesley Street West, Queen's Park Toronto ON M7A 1A2 Telephone 416-325-7400; fax 416-325-7430 Published by the Legislative Assembly of Ontario





Service linguistique et des publications parlementaires
Salle 500, aile ouest, Édifice du Parlement
111, rue Wellesley ouest, Queen's Park
Toronto ON M7A 1A2
Téléphone, 416-325-7400; télécopieur, 416-325-7430
Publié par l'Assemblée législative de l'Ontario

CONTENTS

Tuesday 10 November 2020

Committee business SP-9	907
-------------------------	-----

LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF ONTARIO

ASSEMBLÉE LÉGISLATIVE DE L'ONTARIO

STANDING COMMITTEE ON SOCIAL POLICY

Tuesday 10 November 2020

COMITÉ PERMANENT DE LA POLITIQUE SOCIALE

Mardi 10 novembre 2020

The committee met at 1300 in committee room 2 and by video conference.

COMMITTEE BUSINESS

The Chair (Ms. Natalia Kusendova): Good afternoon, everyone. I call this meeting to order. We are meeting today to consider the method of proceeding with respect to Bill 222, An Act to amend various Acts in respect of transportation-related matters.

We have the following members in the room: MPP Martin and MPP Bell. We have several participants remotely. We have one additional member who has joined us since the pre-meeting, and that was MPP Deepak Anand. Please confirm your attendance and where you're calling from today.

Mr. Deepak Anand: Good afternoon, Chair. This is Deepak Anand, MPP for Mississauga–Malton. I'm calling from Mississauga. Thank you so much.

The Chair (Ms. Natalia Kusendova): Thank you very much. Welcome.

Staff from Hansard, broadcast and recording, and legislative research join us remotely today.

To make sure that everyone can understand what is going on, it is important that all participants speak slowly and clearly. Please wait until I recognize you before starting to speak. Since it could take a little time for your audio and video to come up after I recognize you, please take a brief pause before beginning. As always, all comments should go through the Chair.

Are there any questions before we begin? Seeing none, are there any motions? MPP Martin.

Mrs. Robin Martin: I move that the committee enter closed session for the purpose of organizing committee business and that broadcasting staff be permitted to remain in the closed session meeting for the purpose of operating the electronic meeting technology.

The Chair (Ms. Natalia Kusendova): A motion has been moved by MPP Martin. Is there any debate? MPP Bell.

Ms. Jessica Bell: Thank you, MPP Martin. It would be good to understand what the logic is behind this motion. Usually, these organization meetings happen in an open session.

The Chair (Ms. Natalia Kusendova): MPP Martin.

Mrs. Robin Martin: It's our position that subcommittees meet in closed session to organize committee business, and that the full committee similarly should when organizing committee business, which is what we're doing. That's the logic.

The Chair (Ms. Natalia Kusendova): Any further debate? MPP Bell.

Ms. Jessica Bell: I'm just wondering why there was a change of plan on that. How is that different from—that idea existed before. I fail to understand why it would be a good thing to make these meetings closed. As someone who believes in transparency, as you do too, why not make them open?

The Chair (Ms. Natalia Kusendova): MPP Martin.

Mrs. Robin Martin: It's just about organizing committee business, which is always done in closed session. I have no problem with doing this in closed session. I think this is an appropriate use of our time.

The Chair (Ms. Natalia Kusendova): Any further debate?

Ms. Jessica Bell: I would like a recorded vote.

The Chair (Ms. Natalia Kusendova): Okay. Are the members ready to vote?

Ayes

Anand, Babikian, Fee, Hogarth, Martin, Rasheed.

Nays

Bell, Burch, Karahalios.

The Chair (Ms. Natalia Kusendova): The motion is therefore carried.

MPP Martin.

Mrs. Robin Martin: I have another motion, Chair.

The Chair (Ms. Natalia Kusendova): Before we proceed with the next motion, we will conclude the official broadcasting of this committee. I therefore call for a five-minute recess.

The committee continued in closed session at 1306.

STANDING COMMITTEE ON SOCIAL POLICY

Chair / Présidente

Ms. Natalia Kusendova (Mississauga Centre / Mississauga-Centre PC)

Vice-Chair / Vice-Président

Mr. Aris Babikian (Scarborough–Agincourt PC)

Mr. Aris Babikian (Scarborough–Agincourt PC)

Mr. Jeff Burch (Niagara Centre / Niagara-Centre ND)

Ms. Amy Fee (Kitchener South–Hespeler / Kitchener-Sud–Hespeler PC)

Mr. Michael Gravelle (Thunder Bay-Superior North / Thunder Bay-Supérieur-Nord L)

Mr. Joel Harden (Ottawa Centre / Ottawa-Centre ND)

Mr. Mike Harris (Kitchener-Conestoga PC)

Ms. Christine Hogarth (Etobicoke-Lakeshore PC)

Mrs. Belinda C. Karahalios (Cambridge IND)

Mr. Terence Kernaghan (London North Centre / London-Centre-Nord ND)

Ms. Natalia Kusendova (Mississauga Centre / Mississauga-Centre PC)

Mrs. Robin Martin (Eglinton-Lawrence PC)

Ms. Effie J. Triantafilopoulos (Oakville North-Burlington / Oakville-Nord-Burlington PC)

Substitutions / Membres remplaçants

Mr. Deepak Anand (Mississauga-Malton PC)

Ms. Jessica Bell (University–Rosedale ND)

Mr. Kaleed Rasheed (Mississauga East-Cooksville / Mississauga-Est-Cooksville PC)

Clerk / Greffière

Ms. Tanzima Khan

Staff / Personnel

Mr. Michael Vidoni, research officer, Research Services