Legislative Assembly of Ontario



Assemblée législative de l'Ontario

Journal

des débats

(Hansard)

Official Report of Debates (Hansard)

SP-1 SP-1

Standing Committee on Social Policy

Comité permanent de la politique sociale

Organization

Organisation

2nd Session 42nd Parliament

Monday 25 October 2021

2^e session 42^e législature

Lundi 25 octobre 2021

Chair: Natalia Kusendova Clerk: Tanzima Khan Présidente : Natalia Kusendova

Greffière: Tanzima Khan

Hansard on the Internet

Hansard and other documents of the Legislative Assembly can be on your personal computer within hours after each sitting. The address is:

Le Journal des débats sur Internet

L'adresse pour faire paraître sur votre ordinateur personnel le Journal et d'autres documents de l'Assemblée législative en quelques heures seulement après la séance est :

https://www.ola.org/

Index inquiries

Reference to a cumulative index of previous issues may be obtained by calling the Hansard Reporting Service indexing staff at 416-325-7400.

Renseignements sur l'index

Adressez vos questions portant sur des numéros précédents du Journal des débats au personnel de l'index, qui vous fourniront des références aux pages dans l'index cumulatif, en composant le 416-325-7400.

House Publications and Language Services Room 500, West Wing, Legislative Building 111 Wellesley Street West, Queen's Park Toronto ON M7A 1A2 Telephone 416-325-7400; fax 416-325-7430 Published by the Legislative Assembly of Ontario





Service linguistique et des publications parlementaires
Salle 500, aile ouest, Édifice du Parlement
111, rue Wellesley ouest, Queen's Park
Toronto ON M7A 1A2
Téléphone, 416-325-7400; télécopieur, 416-325-7430
Publié par l'Assemblée législative de l'Ontario

CONTENTS

Monday 25 October 2021

Election of Chair

LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF ONTARIO

ASSEMBLÉE LÉGISLATIVE DE L'ONTARIO

STANDING COMMITTEE ON SOCIAL POLICY

Monday 25 October 2021

COMITÉ PERMANENT DE LA POLITIQUE SOCIALE

Lundi 25 octobre 2021

The committee met at 1400 in room 151 and by video conference.

ELECTION OF CHAIR

The Clerk of the Committee (Ms. Tanzima Khan): Good afternoon, honourable members. I hope everyone is doing well.

As there is a vacancy, it is my duty to call upon you to elect a Chair. Are there any nominations? MPP Triantafilopoulos.

Ms. Effie J. Triantafilopoulos: I'd like to nominate MPP Natalia Kusendova to be Chair of the committee.

The Clerk of the Committee (Ms. Tanzima Khan): Does the member accept this nomination?

Ms. Natalia Kusendova: I accept.

The Clerk of the Committee (Ms. Tanzima Khan): Are there any further nominations? Seeing that there are no further nominations, I declare the nominations closed and MPP Kusendova duly elected Chair of this committee.

MPP Kusendova, would you kindly come and take the Chair?

The Chair (Ms. Natalia Kusendova): Good afternoon, members and staff. I would like to thank you all for electing me as Chair of this committee.

Before we move on to any other business, I will do an attendance check. I will ask each of the members the following questions: if they are present, to confirm that they are in fact the honourable member and to confirm that they are in Ontario.

So that everyone is aware, we also have the following members in the room: MPP Triantafilopoulos, MPP Babikian, MPP Burch and MPP Harden. We have the following members present with us online—welcome, MPP Amy Fee. Could you please state your name and that you are in Ontario?

Ms. Amy Fee: Good afternoon. Yes, this is Amy Fee. I'm in my riding of Kitchener South–Hespeler.

The Chair (Ms. Natalia Kusendova): Thank you. We have MPP Bhutila Karpoche.

Ms. Bhutila Karpoche: Bhutila Karpoche here, present, in Toronto.

The Chair (Ms. Natalia Kusendova): Thank you. We have MPP Jeff Yurek.

Mr. Jeff Yurek: It's Jeff Yurek in St. Thomas.

The Chair (Ms. Natalia Kusendova): Thank you very much. We have MPP Dave Smith.

Failure of sound system.

The Chair (Ms. Natalia Kusendova): I hope our broadband investments reach your riding very soon, MPP Smith. Can you repeat that, please?

Mr. Dave Smith: Sorry. It's MPP Dave Smith, and I am in Peterborough–Kawartha.

The Chair (Ms. Natalia Kusendova): Thank you very much. We also have MPP Deepak Anand.

Mr. Deepak Anand: Thank you, Chair. I'm right next to your riding. I am in Mississauga. This is Deepak Anand. I'm trying to be right close to a really good riding.

The Chair (Ms. Natalia Kusendova): Excellent. Thank you kindly.

Did I miss anyone? Okay. Is there any other business for today? Seeing that there is no further business, this committee is now adjourned. Thank you.

The committee adjourned at 1403.

STANDING COMMITTEE ON SOCIAL POLICY

Chair / Présidente

Ms. Natalia Kusendova (Mississauga Centre / Mississauga-Centre PC)

Vice-Chair / Vice-Présidente

Ms. Bhutila Karpoche (Parkdale-High Park ND)

Mr. Aris Babikian (Scarborough-Agincourt PC)

Mr. Jeff Burch (Niagara Centre / Niagara-Centre ND)

Ms. Amy Fee (Kitchener South–Hespeler / Kitchener-Sud–Hespeler PC)

Mr. Michael Gravelle (Thunder Bay-Superior North / Thunder Bay-Supérieur-Nord L)

Mr. Joel Harden (Ottawa Centre / Ottawa-Centre ND)

Mr. Mike Harris (Kitchener-Conestoga PC)

Ms. Bhutila Karpoche (Parkdale-High Park ND)

Ms. Natalia Kusendova (Mississauga Centre / Mississauga-Centre PC)

Mrs. Robin Martin (Eglinton-Lawrence PC)

Ms. Effie J. Triantafilopoulos (Oakville North–Burlington / Oakville-Nord–Burlington PC)

Mr. Jeff Yurek (Elgin–Middlesex–London PC)

Substitutions / Membres remplaçants

Mr. Deepak Anand (Mississauga–Malton PC)

Mr. Dave Smith (Peterborough-Kawartha PC)

Clerk / Greffière

Ms. Tanzima Khan

Staff / Personnel

Ms. Sandra Lopes, research officer, Research Services