

ISSN 1180-4319

Legislative Assembly of Ontario

Second Session, 40th Parliament

Assemblée législative de l'Ontario

T-1

Deuxième session, 40^e législature

Official Report of Debates (Hansard)

Wednesday 27 February 2013

Journal des débats (Hansard)

Mercredi 27 février 2013

Standing Committee on Regulations and Private Bills

Comité permanent des règlements et des projets de loi d'intérêt privé

Organization

Organisation

Chair: Peter Tabuns Clerk: Tamara Pomanski Président : Peter Tabuns Greffière : Tamara Pomanski

Hansard on the Internet

Hansard and other documents of the Legislative Assembly can be on your personal computer within hours after each sitting. The address is:

Le Journal des débats sur Internet

L'adresse pour faire paraître sur votre ordinateur personnel le Journal et d'autres documents de l'Assemblée législative en quelques heures seulement après la séance est :

http://www.ontla.on.ca/

Index inquiries

Reference to a cumulative index of previous issues may be obtained by calling the Hansard Reporting Service indexing staff at 416-325-7410 or 325-3708.

Renseignements sur l'index

Adressez vos questions portant sur des numéros précédents du Journal des débats au personnel de l'index, qui vous fourniront des références aux pages dans l'index cumulatif, en composant le 416-325-7410 ou le 325-3708.

Hansard Reporting and Interpretation Services Room 500, West Wing, Legislative Building 111 Wellesley Street West, Queen's Park Toronto ON M7A 1A2 Telephone 416-325-7400; fax 416-325-7430 Published by the Legislative Assembly of Ontario





Service du Journal des débats et d'interprétation Salle 500, aile ouest, Édifice du Parlement 111, rue Wellesley ouest, Queen's Park Toronto ON M7A 1A2 Téléphone, 416-325-7400; télécopieur, 416-325-7430 Publié par l'Assemblée législative de l'Ontario

LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF ONTARIO

ASSEMBLÉE LÉGISLATIVE DE L'ONTARIO

STANDING COMMITTEE ON REGULATIONS AND PRIVATE BILLS

Wednesday 27 February 2013

COMITÉ PERMANENT DES RÈGLEMENTS ET DES PROJETS DE LOI D'INTÉRÊT PRIVÉ

Mercredi 27 février 2013

The committee met at 0902 in room 151.

ELECTION OF CHAIR

The Clerk of the Committee (Ms. Tamara Pomanski): Good morning, honourable members. How are you? Nice to see you.

We're here to elect a Chair, and it is my duty to call upon you to elect a Chair. Pursuant to standing order 117(c) and the sessional paper that was tabled on November 24, 2011, the Chair of the Standing Committee on Regulations and Private Bills must be a member of the third party.

Are there any nominations?

Mr. John Vanthof: I would like to nominate Peter Tabuns

The Clerk of the Committee (Ms. Tamara Pomanski): Mr. Tabuns, do you accept the nomination?

Mr. Peter Tabuns: Absolutely.

The Clerk of the Committee (Ms. Tamara Pomanski): Are there any further nominations? Seeing none, I declare the nominations closed and Mr. Tabuns elected Chair of the committee.

The Chair (Mr. Peter Tabuns): Thank you, members of the committee.

ELECTION OF VICE-CHAIR

The Chair (Mr. Peter Tabuns): Our next item of business is the election of a Vice-Chair. I'll read the script: It's my duty to entertain a motion for Vice-Chair. Are there any motions?

Mr. Bill Walker: I'll nominate John Vanthof.

The Chair (Mr. Peter Tabuns): Any other nominations? Mr. Vanthof, you are Vice-Chair.

APPOINTMENT OF SUBCOMMITTEE

The Chair (Mr. Peter Tabuns): I understand that the Clerk has a motion there. This is for appointment of the subcommittee. Mr. Walker, are you prepared to move?

Mr. Bill Walker: I am, other than the name at the top is—

The Clerk of the Committee (Ms. Tamara Pomanski): Sorry. Wrong—just say, "I move."

Mr. Bill Walker: I move that a subcommittee on committee business be appointed to meet from time to time at the call of the Chair, or at the request of any member thereof, to consider and report to the committee on the business of the committee;

That the presence of all members of the subcommittee is necessary to constitute a meeting;

That the subcommittee be composed of the following members: the Chair as Mr. Tabuns, the Vice-Chair as Mr. Vanthof and, I believe, Mr. Hillier;

That substitution be permitted on the subcommittee. *Interjection*.

Mr. Rick Bartolucci: Bill, I think there should be another name.

The Clerk of the Committee (Ms. Tamara Pomanski): Mr. Dhillon.

Mr. Bill Walker: Oh, sorry. Mr. Dhillon, Mr. Hillier and Mr. Vanthof. My apologies.

The Chair (Mr. Peter Tabuns): Mr. Walker has moved a subcommittee motion. Any discussion or comments? If none, I shall now put the question: Shall the motion carry? Carried.

Is there any other business, Clerk?

The Clerk of the Committee (Ms. Tamara Pomanski): I'll just talk for a few minutes.

We have a lot of the same faces this year. That's good to see. I'm assuming, in terms of the committee itself, we're familiar with how the committee works. There are resource binders underneath your packages. Again, we received those last year. It was on the mandate of the committee, and it introduces you to the goings-on of the committee.

There are also documents from ministries. We did review a regs report last year and, if you recall, we had made recommendations to ministries in accordance with our standing orders and they had responded back. So these are some of the documents we had received to date between the prorogation and from the last time that the committee met. This is just more a follow-up from what the committee had received within the last time we had met.

If you have any further questions, let me know. I'm here to answer anything, and my assistant, Kate, as well.

We're here at any time for anything you need. I'm looking forward to working with you all.

The Chair (Mr. Peter Tabuns): Thank you, Tamara.

Seeing no further business, I declare this meeting adjourned.

The committee adjourned at 0906.

CONTENTS

Wednesday 27 February 2013

Election of Chair.	. T	-1
Election of Vice-Chair.	. T	-1
Appointment of subcommittee	. T	-1

STANDING COMMITTEE ON REGULATIONS AND PRIVATE BILLS

Chair / Président

Mr. Peter Tabuns (Toronto-Danforth ND)

Vice-Chair / Vice-Président

Mr. John Vanthof (Timiskaming-Cochrane ND)

Ms. Margarett R. Best (Scarborough–Guildwood L)
Mr. Vic Dhillon (Brampton West / Brampton-Ouest L)
Mr. Joe Dickson (Ajax–Pickering L)
Mr. Randy Hillier (Lanark–Frontenac–Lennox and Addington PC)
Mr. Rod Jackson (Barrie PC)
Mr. Monte Kwinter (York Centre / York-Centre L)
Mr. Peter Tabuns (Toronto–Danforth ND)
Mr. John Vanthof (Timiskaming–Cochrane ND)

Mr. Bill Walker (Bruce–Grey–Owen Sound PC)

Substitutions / Membres remplaçants

Mr. Rick Bartolucci (Sudbury L)
Mr. Grant Crack (Glengarry–Prescott–Russell L)

Clerk / Greffière

Ms. Tamara Pomanski

Staff / Personnel

Ms. Karen Hindle, research officer, Legislative Research Service